Claude headshotThe Tennessee Advanced Energy Business Council is a membership-driven organization. Each month, we highlight one of our valued members. This week, we’re talking to Dr. Claude Pressnell Jr, president of the Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association (TICUA). Learn more about TICUA here.

What is the value of the advanced energy industry in Tennessee?

Dr. Claude Pressnell Jr.: Collaboration between industry and higher education. Tennessee’s private nonprofit colleges and universities seek to be responsive to the current needs of industry as well as looking to the future in research and development.

How does your organization fall under the advanced energy industry?

Pressnell: TICUA brings 34 colleges and universities from Memphis to Bristol into this important conversation. The institutions are diverse in their capacities and service. The member campuses range from a Research 1 (R1) institution to graduate-only in healthcare.

Why did your organization join TAEBC?

Pressnell: To keep abreast of the systemic needs in the advanced energy community.

What value does TAEBC provide to your organization and the state of Tennessee?

Pressnell: Being a part of TAEBC will allow our campuses to be aware of potential partnerships across the state. Additionally, it will allow us to explore collaboration with industry partners.

What are your hopes for the future of the advanced energy industry in Tennessee?

Pressnell: TICUA members are broadly interested in global energy independence and the creation of environmentally friendly energy sources.

About TICUA: For over 200 years, private colleges have been serving the Volunteer state.  In 1956, the precursor of the Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association (TICUA) was established to promote better cooperation among private institutions throughout the state of Tennessee.  TICUA is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of member college presidents and corporate and civic leaders.  Daily activities are coordinated by a five member staff. Learn more here.